Communications: News

MAFP Presents Awards, Elects Officers

Wednesday, April 24, 2013  
Share |

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) presented awards and elected officers on April 18, 2013, during its Annual Meeting and Spring Refresher at the RiverCentre in St. Paul.

2013 Award Winners:

Minnesota Family Physician of the Year – Donald Hughes, MD, Riverwood Healthcare Center, Aitkin, MN

President’s Award – Therese Zink, MD, MPH, Professor, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, University of Minnesota

Merit Award – William O. Roberts, MD, MS, Director, University of Minnesota St. John’s Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program

Teacher of the Year – Roger Lindholm, MD, Preceptor, New Ulm Medical Center, New Ulm, MN

Resident of the Year – Carol Tunney, MB, BCh, BAO, Third-year resident, Mayo Family Medicine Residency Program

2013-2014 MAFP Officers:

President – Daron Gersch, MD, Albany, MN

President-Elect – Kurt Angstman, MD, Rochester, MN

Board Chair – Richard Horecka, MD, Benson, MN

Speaker of the House – Mohammad Tariq Fareed, MD, FAAFP, Rochester, MN

Vice Speaker – Dania Kamp, MD, Moose Lake, MN

Treasurer – Raymond Christensen, MD, Duluth, MN

Officer-At-Large – Kimberly Wernsing, MD, Mankato, MN

Director-At-Large – David Bucher, MD, St. Paul, MN

Immediate Past President – Julie K. Anderson, MD, St. Cloud, MN

AAFP Delegate – Carol Featherstone, MD, Brooklyn Center, MN

AAFP Delegate – Lynne Lillie, MD, Woodbury, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – David Hutchinson, MD, Duluth, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate –Julie K. Anderson, MD, St. Cloud, MN

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal