Communications: News

Minnesota Family Physicians Name President's Award Winner

Wednesday, May 2, 2012  
Share |

Macaran Baird, M.D., M.S., Professor and Head of the Department of Family Medicine and Community Health, was presented with the Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians’ (MAFP) President’s Award during the House of Delegates on April 25, 2012. The President’s Award is given by the MAFP president to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the specialty of family medicine and the Academy.

Dr. Baird received the President’s Award because throughout his career, he has been a strong advocate for the values of primary care and a champion for family medicine.

"When the need for primary care is as acute as ever, it’s nice to know we have a voice like Dr. Baird representing family medicine at the University,” said Alan Olson, M.D., outgoing MAFP President.

The President’s Award was presented to him during the MAFP Spring Refresher at the Minneapolis Convention Center on April 26, 2012.

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal