Communications: News

Family Physicians Name Minneapolis Doctor 2010 Resident of the Year

Monday, March 29, 2010  
Share |

Tanner Nissly, D.O., Minneapolis, MN, received the 2010 Resident of the Year Award from the Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP).

The award recognizes a third-year resident for significant contributions to family medicine in the community, including teaching, leadership and educational activities. Candidates are typically nominated by teachers and/or colleagues.

Dr. Nissly is finishing his training with the University of Minnesota/North Memorial Hospital Family Medicine Residency Program. Nominators describe him as a person with a deep sense of social responsibility who demonstrates maturity and leadership skills beyond his years.

A graduate of Iowa State University and the College of Osteopathic Medicine at Des Moines University, those who nominated him say he embodies a spirit of service which has led him to be a preceptor at the Phillips Neighborhood Clinic and he is also active in community events in the Near North and Hawthorne neighborhoods of Minneapolis. One nominator wrote "the North Minneapolis and North Memorial communities will be forever changed by his contribution.”

The Resident of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Nissly on April 15, 2010, during the MAFP Spring Refresher at the Crowne Plaza Riverfront Hotel in St. Paul.

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal