Communications: News

MAFP Presents Awards, Elects Officers

Thursday, April 17, 2014  
Share |

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) presented awards and elected officers on April 10, 2014, during its Annual Meeting and Spring Refresher at the RiverCentre in St. Paul.

           2014 Award Winners:

Minnesota Family Physician of the Year – Sheldon Burns, MD, Edina Family Physicians, Edina, MN; Medical Director, MN Wild, MN Timberwolves, & MN Lynx; Team Physician, MN Vikings

President’s Award – Darrell Carter, MD, Affiliate Community Medical Centers, Granite Falls, MN; Program Director, Comprehensive Advanced Life Support (CALS)

Teacher of the Year – Shailendra Prasad, MBBS, MPH, Associate Director, University of Minnesota/North Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program, Minneapolis, MN

Resident of the Year – Keri Bergeson, MD, Third-year resident, University of Minnesota/North Memorial Family Medicine Residency Program, Minneapolis, MN

Researcher of the Year – Thomas Thacher, MD, Professor of Family Medicine, Vice Chair for Research, Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

Medical Student Award for Contributions to Family Medicine – Christine Spampinato, Fourth-year medical student, Mayo Medical School, Rochester, MN

View photos of 2014 award winners at

2013-2014 MAFP Officers:

President – Kurt Angstman, MD, Rochester, MN

President-Elect – M. Tariq Fareed, MD, Plymouth, MN

Board Chair – Richard Horecka, MD, Benson, MN

Speaker of the House – Dania Kamp, MD, Moose Lake, MN

Vice Speaker – Glenn Nemec, MD, Monticello, MN

Treasurer – Raymond Christensen, MD, Duluth, MN

Officer-At-Large – Renee Crichlow, MD, Minneapolis, MN

Director-At-Large – David Bucher, M.D., St. Paul, MN

Immediate Past President – Daron Gersch, MD, Albany, MN

AAFP Delegate – Lynne Lillie, MD, Red Wing, MN

AAFP Delegate – David Hutchinson, MD, Duluth, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – Julie K. Anderson, MD, St. Cloud, MN

AAFP Alternate Delegate – Daron Gersch, MD, Albany, MN

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students organized to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota. The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal