Communications: News

Minnesota Family Physicians Name President's Award Winner

Tuesday, April 21, 2015  
Share |

John Wilkinson, M.D., an Associate Professor of Family Medicine in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and consultant in the Department of Family Medicine at Mayo Clinic, is the recipient of the 2015 Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians’ (MAFP) President’s Award.

The President’s Award is given by the MAFP president to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the specialty of family medicine and the Academy.

Dr. Wilkinson has impacted many areas of clinical practice over his career.  He has had sustained contributions to the work of the Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI) by serving on workgroups and as a workgroup leader.  He also played a leadership role on the ICSI Primary Prevention of Chronic Disease guideline, which outlines evidence-based systems changes that support healthier lifestyles and chronic disease prevention.  This guideline has strongly influenced the current development and implementation of the Minnesota Department of Health Statewide Health Improvement Program (SHIP), of which Mayo Clinic is an active partner in Olmsted County.

Dr. Wilkinson began discussions with the leadership of the American Board of Family Medicine about the possibility of granting physicians Maintenance of Certification credit for participation in institutional (rather than individual) quality improvement activities.  This institutional process reduced the administrative burden on our staff, and serve as a powerful inducement for them to become engaged in the ongoing initiatives of Mayo Clinic. 

Dr. Wilkinson has organized and delivered numerous group sessions for Part II MOC SAMs, including the first-ever session that was done by live videoconference in 2010. He also was instrumental in coordinating initial training needs for the new Department of Transportation examination.  Dr. Wilkinson has been instrumental in working with the American Board of Family Medicine to develop and enhance continued and effective educational opportunities for Maintenance of Certification.

Dr. Wilkinson has also been closely associated with Mayo Clinical Reviews and was appointed Co-Director of this flagship course in 2004.   Under his leadership, this course continues to grow, now attracting around 1,000 attendees annually.

“Dr. Wilkinson has been a lifelong mentor to me.  He has taught me the joys of family medicine and inspired me to always look to improve our practice, our teaching and research,” said Kurt Angstman, M.D., MAFP Immediate Past President.

The award was presented to Dr. Wilkinson during the MAFP All-Member Celebration on Thursday, April 16, 2015.

The Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians is a professional association of approximately 3,000 family physicians, family medicine residents and medical students established to assist family physicians in providing quality medical care in Minnesota.  The MAFP is the largest medical specialty organization in Minnesota and is a state chapter of the American Academy of Family Physicians, one of the largest national medical organizations in the United States, with more than 103,000 members.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal