Communications: News

2019 Family Physician of the Year Award Nominees Announced

Tuesday, January 15, 2019   (0 Comments)
Share |

Thirty members of the Minnesota Academy of Family Physicians (MAFP) have been nominated for 2019 Minnesota Family Physician of the Year Award, the 3,100-member organization’s top award.

The nominees are:

  • Anthony Amon, MD (finalist)
  • Julie Anderson, MD, FAAFP
  • Katherine Anderson, MD
  • Julie Bell, MD
  • John Benson, MD (finalist)
  • Kourtney Bradford Houle, MD
  • Nathan Brever, MD
  • Carmen Buiceag-Arama, MD
  • Jenna Clappier, MD
  • Stephen Clappier, MD
  • Scott Colson, MD (finalist)
  • Chaun Cox, MD
  • Craig Gilbertson, MD
  • Aaron Johnson, MD (finalist)
  • Dania Kamp, MD, FAAFP
  • Kathryn Mechelke, MD
  • Mancel Mitchell, MD
  • Bartley Mueller, MD
  • John Pate, MD, FAAFP
  • Scott Rahm, MD
  • Paul Ruth, MD
  • John Schaffhausen, MD
  • Timothy Slama, DO
  • Nyasha Spears, MD
  • Alyssa Stitt, MD
  • Veronica Svetaz, MD, FAAFP
  • Thomas Swan, MD
  • Kimberly Tjaden, MD (finalist)
  • Doris Tran-Stoebe, MD
  • Amanda Walz, MD

A panel of previous recipients will select up to four finalists to recommend for final voting by the MAFP Board of Directors. Finalists and recipient will be recognized at the MAFP’s annual meeting, the Spring Refresher, on March 28, 2019, at The Depot Minneapolis alongside recipients for four other Academy Awards:

  • Family Medicine Educator of the Year
  • Family Medicine Resident of the Year
  • Family Medicine Student Leadership Award
  • Innovation & Research Award

The Family Physician of the Year award is presented annually to a family physician who represents the highest ideals of the specialty of family medicine, including caring, comprehensive medical service, community involvement and serving as a role model.

Membership Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal